Next match

Team logo
Burnham (A)
Sat Jul 1

Next match

Team logo
Burnham (A)
Sat Jul 1 17:30
The Vanarama National League South

Honours even at Holloways Park

| League
Att: 289
Beaconsfield Town
Poulton (pen 53)
1 - 1
Slough Town
Burnell (pen 25)
David Woozley
Slough Town and landlords Beaconsfield SYCOB contested a hard-fought 1-1 draw in the New Years' Day 'Holloways Park derby'.

Both goals came from the penalty spot, Dan Burnell scoring on 25 minutes after debutant Joe Chandiram was brought down in the box. Nathan Poulton levelled the scores eight minutes into the second half when he stroked home his penalty after James Warrington had brought down Ryan Upward.

Whilst Slough had looked the better side after going ahead, SYCOB emerged as the more likely to snatch all three points in the second half after equalising.

But Slough were dealt a blow early on, with midfielder Dave Deeney picking up an ankle injury. Adam Martin replaced him.

Ryan Blake turned past his marker and fired wide from the edge of the box for SYCOB, and Page flicked the ball just over the bar from a corner.

Just as in Boxing Day derby against Burnham, Slough took the lead against the run of play; Burnell converting the penalty after Chandiram was felled following good hold-up play by Ed Smith.

The goal lifted Slough, who won a series of corners but failed to test Jonathan Nydell. And they were punished on 53 minutes when James Warrington brought down Ryan Upward in the box, with Poulton stepping up to convert from 12 yards.

SYCOB were the better side in the second half and missed a presentable chance after a low cross from the right. Slough's best chances came as Dave Woozley was denied a penalty after his run was halted in the penalty area, and Ed Smith was thwarted by a superb save from SYCOB goalkeeper Jonathan Nydell.

Upward had a golden chance to score for Beaconsfield as he cut in from the left, but curled a shot over; but Slough broke soon after and Smith struck for the top corner, only to be denied by a flying save from the Beaconsfield number one.

SYCOB came close to a dramatic late winner as a free kick flashed all the way across the box and wide, and in the end Slough may consider this a good point in a competitive local derby.

Beaconsfield Town Line up

Jonathan Nydell, Ashleigh James, Craig Carby, Anthony Page, Yiadom Yeboah (c), Alex Cairns (Adam Bernard), Jonathan Montgomery, Nathan Poulton, Yashwa Romeo, Ryan Blake, Ryan Upward. Subs not used: Gavin James, Sam Walters, Sam Druce, Jordan Ajanlekoko.

Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2023