Staines Victorious At Stag Meadow

Slough Town

Slough Town

Hodges (74)
Staines Town

Staines Town

Manuella (8), Nabil (55)
League Attendance: 274 Steve Daly
Slough fell to their second consecutive defeat on Tuesday as they lost out to an impressive Staines Town side which featured three ex-Rebels in Shaun Allaway, Michael Murphy and Clement James within their starting eleven.

Staines took the lead as highly regarded midfielder Fiston Manuella won the battle for a long throw into the Slough area and was able to head home past Parkin.

The two sides exchanged a half chance each as Leigh Mason was played in behind the Staines defence but was hesitant on the ball and was caught by the visiting defence.

At the other end, Tariq Nabil flashed a shot across goal which just needed a touch from any number of players running back towards the goal but it went wide of Parkin's right hand post.

Staines extended their lead early in the second half. A corner from the left was headed goalwards by Manuella. Josias Carbon was able to stop the ball from going over the line but Nabil was alert to the danger and reacted quickly to head in from a yard out.

James thundered a free kick from 25 yards off Parkin's crossbar as Staines nearly went further ahead and Nabil forced a good save from Parkin but it was the Rebels who got the next goal of the game. Michael Alexis sprayed the ball out to the right to Carbon. The defender beat James down the right and crossed in for Ian Hodges to head home.

Slough were a few inches away from an equaliser in the final moments of the game as Steve Daly, pushed upfront to add some pressure to the away defence, received the ball in the area and despite falling backwards got a shot away but it clipped the outside of Allaway's left post before being cleared.

Staines Town Lineup

Shaun Allaway, Danny Gordon, Michael Murphy, Andre De Lisser, Matt Flitter (c), Jake Newton, Luke Muldowney, Fiston Manuella, Tariq Nabil, Jon McDonald, Clement James. Subs: Marian Ifura(for Murphy), James Courtnage, Craig Maskell, Mark Williams, Karel Derewenko


Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2024