Next match

Team logo
Virgina Water (H)
Fri Jul 5

Next match

Team logo
Virgina Water (H)
Fri Jul 5 19:45
The Vanarama National League South

Ebbsfleet take the points at Arbour Park

Slough Town

Slough Town

B Harris (17)
Ebbsfleet United

Ebbsfleet United

Bingham (pen 41), L Martin (71), J Martin (78)
League Attendance: 757 Aaron Kuhl
Slough Town were defeated thanks to a superb second half performance from Ebbsfleet United at Arbour Park, writes Henry Cheal.

Slough got off to the best possible start on 17 minutes as Ebbsfleet goalkeeper Josh Gould misjudged a Slough clearance which led to Ben Harris shooting into an open goal.

What followed was a very even half as both teams both produced some good chances. The away team’s effort in the 24th minute, thanks to a Lee Martin cross, was skied over the bar as the visitors put their foot in the game.

At the half hour mark Aaron Kuhl’s attempt from distance went just wide of the goal in what was an end-to-end encounter.

However, with six minutes to go before half-time, the away side were awarded a penalty after Lee Martin was brought down by the Rebels’ skipper Mark Nisbet. Rakish Bingham’s effort sent Jonathan North the wrong way as the ball was slotted in the bottom left hand corner.

The scoreline was level at the interval, Ebbsfleet having had the more opportunities but unable to convert them up until the controversial penalty before the break.

In the second half the ‘Fleet’ stepped it up a gear and produced some great link up play from Craig Tanner, Greg Cundle and Lee Martin in the 55th minute but couldn’t find the back of the net.

With 20 minutes to go, Slough’s Ben Harris was brought down in the box but no penalty kick was awarded for the home side.

Ebbsfleet then proceeded to go up the pitch and take the lead as Lee Martin’s fine attempt hit the top corner after a great run, leaving North no chance to try and pull off a stunning save.

Just seven minutes later the away side sealed a two goal cushion against the Rebels, as Joe Martin headed fired past North after Lee Martin’s picked him out in the middle of the penalty area.

There was almost a lifeline in the last few minutes as Ebbsfleet defender Sefa Kahraman sent a heavy pass back to his goalkeeper, but the ball hit the post.

Image: Philip Benton

Ebbsfleet United Lineup

Josh Gould, Joe Martin, Sefa Kahraman, Ben Chapman, Chris Solly, Craig Tanner, Tobi Adebayo-Rowling (Will Wood 87), Greg Cundle, Lee Martin, Dominic Poleon (Alfie Egan 76), Rakish Bingham (Jack Paxman 83). Unused substitutes: Chris Haigh, Kreshnik Krasniqi.


Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2024