Confidence boost from double act

Slough Town

Slough Town

Sayer (29, 4-1), McKinnon (38, 3-1)
Welling United

Welling United

Abbott (20), Dennis (62)
League Attendance: 905
After two goalless games, Slough found their scoring boots with a vengeance when they defeated Welling United out Tuesday night.

Having been given the run around for the first 21 minutes with new player manager Gary Abbott scoring in the 20th minute Slough took firm control.

Manager Dave Kemp made on change from Saturday with Neal Stanley playing in place of available player coach Les Briley whose son was unwell.

The watching Colchester manager Roy McDonough was an interested spectator in the stand along with Coventry boss Bobby Gould and representatives of other top clubs.

Slough's equaliser came in the 29th minute when top goal scorer Andy Sayer hit home a cross from Neal Stanley.

The Rebels then went into the lead on 38 minutes when Paul McKinnon scored, with Stanley again the provider.

And Stanley almost scored himself in the 40th minute but had his shot well saved by Welling keeper Lee Harrison.

Early in the second half McKinnon landed his second after a fine move by all the forwards, shortly before Stanley came off nursing his hamstring to be replaced by George Friel.

In the 62nd minute Lenny Dennis was allowed to run the defence and bend the ball around Trevor Bunting to pull one back for Welling.

Slough's most goal came spectacular minute when in Andy Sayer performed a tremendous overhead bicycle kick from the penalty spot which flew into the net past the amazed Harrison.

Two minutes later he was brought down racing through for a hat-trick and found himself booked for dissent after kicking the ball into the net.

McKinnon also came close to his third late in the game.

This quality win sets Slough up for Saturday's intriguing FA Cup first round clash with Colchester, and on this form they could well cause a surprise.

Welling United Lineup


Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2024