Nine Without A Win

Carshalton Ath

Carshalton Ath

Fontana (1-1, 3-1, 4-1), Howarth (2-1), Hamici (85)
Slough Town

Slough Town

Nsubuga (0-1)
League Attendance: 181 Abby Nsubuga
Slough made it nine games without a win since that excellent performance at Staines in October as they started 2007 with another heavy defeat.

Having only had a single draw within those games and a number of changes to the playing personnel, Slough will be hoping for better fortunes for the remainder of the season, however unlikely it may seem.

Slough had gone into the game at Colston Avenue with another four new players. Matthew Pollard took over from loanee Lee Farrow in goal, Mark Hokan joined from Burnham to play at right back, Michael Donovan came in from Bromley to join Steve Daly and Jon Mills in the middle of defence and Hasan Suleiman came in from Aldershot on loan and took his place on the left.

Slough had started well enough and took a deserved lead through Abby Nsubuga. Having been played in by George Moleski, the young midfielder finished well from close range.

Two quick fire goals turned the game on its head though as Slough fell behind. Luke Fontana got onto the end of a through ball to finish past Pollard and minutes later Rob Howarth punished some slack defending to hammer home after receiving the ball from Fontana.

Slough were still looking more dangerous than in recent matches and had gone close with Matt Miller, Suleiman and Nsubuga all going close but the home side held onto their lead into the break.

Slough thought they had equalised in the early stages of the second half as Miller had the ball in the back of the net, but the linesman had his flag up for offside and the goal was chalked off.

Fontana was able to complete his hat-trick, being played in behind the Slough defence on both occassions to add his sides third and fourth goals before Laurent Hamici completed the scoring with five minutes left with a shot which deflected off of Jon Mills.

Carshalton Ath Lineup


Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2024