Match day

Team logo
Ebbsfleet United (H)
Sat Mar 25

Match day

Team logo
Ebbsfleet United (H)
Sat Mar 25 12:30
The Vanarama National League South

Pre-season: Rebels draw with Oxford United

| Friendly
Att: 209
Slough Town
Dobson (59)
1 - 1
Oxford United
Owens (22)
With conflict brewing at the end of the game, and even the floodlights at Arbour Park going out for a brief period during the match, this pre-season match with Oxford United certainly was something special.

The game finished 1-1 with the Rebels coming back from a goal down.

In the first half hour, Oxford United took the lead thanks to Will Owens, who smashed the ball with pace from outside the box with a curling effort which went right into the top corner. The assist came from former Slough loanee, Tyler Goodrham.

The complete dynamic of the game changed just before the half time whistle, as the referee signalled a controversial red card for the opposition. Slough were on the counter-attack with Imran Kayani sprinting across the pitch but Golding pulled him back and was consequently sent off.

From the resulting free kick, Dobson’s low but pacy shot went below the wall and was heading for the corner of the goal before Barnsley in goal managed to put a hand to it.

Dobson finally got the equaliser just before the hour mark where he smashed the ball in after a pass deflected into his path.

Slough voluntarity went down to ten players on the hour mark to match up with their opponents for the final third of the match.

With several Slough counters being halted due to offside flags, it appeared unlikely the Rebels had the luck to muster any sort of chance to find a winner.

However, the match almost ended with a last-gasp Oxford United victory. Jonathan North pulled off a fantastic save in the dying embers, and with the Oxford attackers trying to take the ball off him, there was a clash; but with tempers starting to fray, the final whistle blew.

Slough Town Line up

Jonathan North, Josh Jackman, George Wells, Edon Pruti, James Dobson (Scott Davies 60), Ben Harris (Elliot Benyon HT), Johnny Goddard (Matthew Lench 60), George Hunt (Fabio Sole HT), Ryan Bird (Gabe George 60), Imran Kayani, Aaron Kuhl (withdrawn 60).

Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2023