Rebels and Tanners share six goals in final pre-season game

| Friendly
Att: 100
3 - 3
Slough Town
Smith (8, 51), Witham (47)
Edward Smith
Slough rounded off their pre-season campaign with a 3-3 draw at Leatherhead.

A depleted Slough side surrendered a 3-1 lead in the second half against their Ryman Premier League opponents, with the hosts able to make numerous changes, whilst Slough were only able to call upon Johnnie Dyer, Jamie McClurg and Ben Edwards from the bench.

Scott Harris made his first appearance since suffering injury at the end of last season, and along with Adrian Sear, got a useful 30 minutes under his belt before being replaced. Harris could have found the net for the Rebels, but hit a fierce shot just over from 20 yards before being replaced.

The ‘Tanners’ opened the scoring in the second minute, with Ryan Dolby’s low free kick beating Somerville at his left hand post.

Just six minutes later, Eddie Smith equalised, breaking clear through the middle before coming inside on his left foot and slotting past Louis Wells on his left foot from outside the box.

In the second half, Slough raced into a 3-1 lead. Alex Witham side footed home from close range to put Slough back in front, converting Sean Fraser’s cross.

Not long after, Rebels capitalised on poor Leatherhead defending, with Witham squaring the ball for Smith, who planted the ball into the empty net.

On 61 minutes, the hosts pulled one back, Felix Ogeah-Andrews firing from a tight angle in via the far post after being slipped in with a measured pass.

Somerville made a good block to deny the hosts, whilst Slough could have made it 4-2 after more poor defending, but George Frith’s ball across goal was just too long for Smith to latch on to.

Five minutes from time, Slough failed to deal with a free kick, and Ryan Cooper volleyed in to the roof of the net to pull the Tanners level.

Slough make the short trip to Burnham next Saturday (9 August) for their opening Southern Premier game.

Slough Town Line up

Somerville, Ehui, Fraser, Hollis (c), Yorke, Frith, Castello (Edwards), Sear (McClurg), Smith, Witham, S Harris (Dyer).

Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2020