Match day

Team logo
Hertford Town Blues (H)
Wed Nov 29

Match day

Team logo
Hertford Town Blues (H)
Wed Nov 29 14:00
The National League U19 Alliance

Squad news: Worthing

An update from Neil Baker, who looks ahead to tomorrow's Emirates FA Cup tie.


Tomorrow we enter Second Round Qualifying of the FA Cup with a tough home tie against currently unbeaten Worthing, who have made a fantastic start to the National South campaign, writes Neil Baker.

The FA Cup can bring up a multitude of emotions, of which we have certainly encountered numerous types over our years as managers - from the lows of defeat against Ardley and Whitehawk, to the highs of winning against Gainsborough and Sutton, and Second Round proper appearances against Rochdale and Gillingham.

With the FA Cup there is no in-between; winning is everything, and ourselves like Worthing will be looking to start a successful cup run this year, but one of us will be unsuccessful.

Whilst the prize money is important for every club, with the changes they have made over the last couple of years, to have a really successful financial year you probably need to make it to the First Round and get a live TV game, or get to the Second/Third Round.

The Third Round is obviously the holy grail that as a club we have never made, however you only need to look at Marine a couple of seasons back who were at step 4 to know that the dream can be lived.

Whatever the outcome of the game, it is a wonderful competition and there will be some non-league side this year who will be very successful - we just have to hope that it is us this year.

In terms of team news, we will be without Elliott Benyon after his dislocated shoulder on Tuesday night, Scott Davies who is away and also George Hunt who is still struggling with an ear complaint which could be a perforated eardrum.

Subject to FA confirmation we will be able to add young on-loan forward George Cowmeadow and will pick from a 17-man squad as follows:

Jonathan North, Rhys Forster, Josh Jackman, George Wells, Guy Hollis, Joe Dandy, Ryan Bird, James Dobson, Matthew Lench, Johnny Goddard, Aaron Kuhl, Lee Togwell, Fabio Sole, Ben Harris, Manny Williams, Imran Kayani, George Cowmeadow.


Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2023