Next match

Team logo
Aldershot Town (H)
Sat Aug 7

Next match

Team logo
Aldershot Town (H)
Sat Aug 7 15:00
The Vanarama National League South

Squad news: Hemel Hempstead Town

Jon Underwood provides an update ahead of this evening's National League South opener.


After a fantastic win in the FA Cup at the weekend, we look forward to starting our league campaign at Arbour Park tonight with Hemel Hempstead the visitors, writes Jon Underwood.

We welcome their new managers Lee Bircham and of course Steve Bateman, and wish them well for the season.

Disappointingly, we still await confirmation from the National League as to what our portion of the Government funding will look like, and as a result we are unable to further strengthen our squad at the moment. With games coming thick and fast this puts us in a difficult position but we are delighted with the players we do have and will continue to lean on Ashley Smith's talented group of U23 players to supplement the squad.

Unfortunately, in winning the penalty at Dartford one of those players, Ada Okorogheye injured his knee and was forced off. He will definitely miss tonight's game and we should learn more this week as to how bad the injury is.

One positive is that Dan Roberts is close to a return - also from a knee injury - and will have a fitness test tonight to see if he can be involved, while Guy Hollis will get the result of his scan later today so we will then know more about that one.

We have signed another of our promising U23 players, Eitel Goueth who is an attacking midfielder and he will be with us tonight.

Obviously we will really miss the vocal support of our loyal fans tonight and ask that they support the club by streaming the game and cheering us on from their living rooms! We really hope to see you all soon.

Squad: Jack Turner, Josh Jackman, Louis Lomas, Ryan Bird, Sam Togwell, Lee Togwell, Sean Fraser, Aaron Kuhl, Matt Lench, Jack McKnight, Max Worsfold, Warren Harris, Paul Hodges, Ben Harris, Dan Roberts, Eitel Goueth, Michael Edegbe.

Image: Philip Benton

Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2021